Thankful Thursday: Gratitude is the Attitude

So I’m sure most people reading this will have heard of Gratitude lists. However, I believe in going above and beyond in every area of my life (if I have the energy). Most gurus talk about gratitude lists as a way to create abundance and feel happy about your life. You might feel like, ugg I ain’t got nuffin though! Honey child, I am here to tell you if you are reading this – you got somefinn! Haha! Also when you are writing your gratitude lists, don’t just write I have a roof over my head, and food. Write things that you deeply feel grateful for. When I first found my apartment, I had just gotten out of a horrible relationships and was graciously sleeping on my friends couch. So when I found this place, from the bottom of my heart I was grateful. Also, some things are just very special and unique to you. I may have mentioned my cat. Sometimes, I feel stressed out and she calms me down soo much. SO I am truly grateful for her. Another thing, I used to spend hours online searching for new music. Then someone told me about spotify, and how they send you a personalized playlist every week! So I am truly grateful for Spotify. You may or may not have heard, but the acting business is tough!  So any acting parts I book, I usually cry of joy, and then I say a prayer thanking God above. Maybe, if you did the exercise yesterday you have new things to be grateful for (like shoes). It might have been weird at first, but you deserve to have everything! Being truly grateful for everything given to you on Wednesday is part of fully receiving. I think of gratitude as like a period at the end of a sentence. You are given all of these words but you want to punctuate it to make it complete!  😀  Finally, what would life be without the wonderful beings that occupy our lives. Yes, write a list of the things and people that are special to you deep down. Write everything you feel deeply, passionately, epically grateful for. Afterwards, I found it to be more nourishing, to go out of my way and tell those very special people how special they are to me. You don’t have to call people. I think it is actually more effective if you write them a note. It can be a text, card, email, or long letter. Life is fleeting, a person that means the world to you just might not know unless you tell them. Make their day by telling them why they mean so much to you. They might be feeling blue and your words might make their day! It is soo easy to isolate yourself (or myself), and say boo I’m soo alone and sad. While I’m going through that, I can just take a look back at my list and realize that maybe if I hang out with those people who make me feel alive again I will forget I ever felt alone. Everyone has certain people they come across in their life that sizzle their soul. Hold on to those people, and take care of them like a flower in the garden. Water that relationship, feed it, love it, tell it how much it means to you because you are lucky to have come across someone who is that amazing in your lifetime! Gratitude is an incredible attitude and it’s contagious. So let’s spread this happiness virus!

Directions: Attitude of Gratitude

  1. Get a pen and paper.
  2. Write a handwritten list of everything you are truly deeply grateful for (aim for 5-10).
  3. Notice the people you are truly grateful for today.
  4. Send them a note telling them how much they mean to you.
  5. Do this on a daily basis for the best results.

 

4 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: Gratitude is the Attitude

Leave a Reply

