An Objective Look At Your Life.

So as I mentioned yesterday, when we are in our lives it is hard to see something that may be so obvious to the people surrounding us (that love us). Sometimes something that we think is good or feels good in the moment, actually isn’t serving us in the long run. So a way to jump start clearing your life of toxicities is to look at your life objectively. I learned this simple technique at a seminar I did with my dad and sister in Utah, called Turning Leaf.  We learned all sorts of techniques there, but this specific task I have used over and over again. I call it the Working/Not Working List. It is as simple as it sounds. This list is also immensely helpful for people like myself, who get so invested in something they start to forget why they are there.

Working/Not Working List Directions

  1. Get a piece of lined paper & a pen.
  2. Write a line through the middle of the page.
  3. On Column 1, write: Working.
  4. On Column 2, write: Not Working.
  5. Start listing everything that is working in your life in column 1.
  6. Start listing everything that is not working in your life in column 2.

Things that are working for me right now might be: having a cat, doing funny stuff, going to the gym, being in nature, my awesome agent, not eating refined sugar, singing/acting, my friends dorothy/peter/jenny/aimee (who make me feel loved unconditionally), my friend brian (who believes/supports my creativity no matter what),  getting 8 hours of sleep, taking baths, and writing. Think of why this is working, what about it adds to your life. Anything that is really working your life, is it your job – that is really working? Is it your friend(s) – that is really working? Is it a specialized diet –  is that really working? Is it your lover/marriage -that is really working?

Things that aren’t working for me right now might be: negative people, worrying/anxiety, when I “accidentally” eat dairy, not prioritizing things that need to get done, being hard on myself for not getting everything done, being hard on myself for not making enough time for each person in my life, not listening to my intuition, leaving makeup on and then my eyes being itchy in the morning. Things that aren’t working can be a task (leaving makeup on). They can also be a person that makes you feel bad. They can also be a situation (a book club that doesn’t align with your interests).  Anything can fall into the not working list.

Both of these lists are just some things that I thought of off the top of my head.  Like someone told me once, either things are bringing you up and making you feel alive, or bringing you down and killing your vibe. So figure out what you need to see more of in your life, and what you need to throw out (dairy products for me -hehe).

Oo and you may do this over and over again in your life. So it’s fun to see old lists and look at what is the similarities they have!

5 thoughts on “An Objective Look At Your Life.

Leave a Reply

